Reader Advisory

Some articles posted in The SlickMaster's Files may contain themes, languages, and content which may neither appropriate nor appealing to certain readers. READER DISCRETION is advised.

Friday, May 20, 2011

Rose the new MVP. Numbers Game.

Rose the new MVP. Numbers Game.
n.d. a.k.a nestor / slick master
04:09 p.m.

Derrick Rose was named the Most Valuable Player of the National Basketball Association for the 2010-2011 season. Also, he was also listed at the All-NBA team for the first time, and joining the unanimous choice for the squad, LeBron James. He has been a factor why the Chicago Bulls had overtaken the San Antonio Spurs for the league’s best record at 62 wins and 20 losses. Look at those stats though they are not as insane as those others 25.0 points and 7.7 assists to go along with 4.1 rebounds, man! All are team highs and eh was also the only player to be part of the top 10 in scoring (7th) and assists (10th). Also, the youngest guy to win it all by the age of 22.

I can only say is this guy is already at the highest level and he can even surpass the other present legends whom are still competing for the career ranks. Kobe Bryant, LeBron James, Paul Pierce, Dirk Nowitzki you name them. And so far, his team is at the eastern Conference Finals. However there is something that I have observed for over the past 8 years (including this year). No one, I mean no one had won the championship despite having its star player winning the most valuable player? You want example? Kevin Garnett. Minnesota was on its best time until Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal’s Lakers had stopped them out in the Western Conference Finals. More? Steve Nash. 2 MVP awards in 2005 and 2006, and his squad had made it to the Western Conference Finals and came up short against eventual Western Champs San Antonio Spurs and Dallas Mavericks, respectively. Want another? Dirk Nowitzki. He was named the MVP for his Dallas Mavericks squad that won 67 of its 82 games, but lost 4 of its 6 playoff contests in an upset by Golden State Warriors. At first, I was wondering why did he won the award. But I just realized that after all, they may be only good in regular season for that time and it’s better to give credit to Dirkman for leading them. Another one: Kobe Bryant. It was the time where Bryant had gone to a Cinderella story to the extent that his team came up short against eventual champion Boston Celtics. Last on the list: LeBron James. He had won the award twice for leading the Cleveland Cavaliers for the best team record in the league. However the first one, he ran short against eventual Eastern Conference champion Orlando Magic in 2009 and the second one against even eventual East champs Boston Celtics, in the semifinals of the 2010 playoffs. Therefore I conclude, that sine 2004, no team in NBA whom had a regular-season MVP player for that season had won a championship. That’s why finals MVP exist, anyway. But 1 had made it to the big stage, and 6 of them had at least made it to the conference finals. So, why the hell did I observe and told you that? Simple. Because basketball is a team sport and individual greats may stand out for their team’s success, but it doesn’t guarantee you a championship unless you’re the last team standing come June. So, for Derrick Rose, I hope you can break the jinx out of it. Good luck!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to make a comment as long as it is within the bounds of the issue, and as long as you do it with decency. Thanks!