Reader Advisory

Some articles posted in The SlickMaster's Files may contain themes, languages, and content which may neither appropriate nor appealing to certain readers. READER DISCRETION is advised.

Thursday, November 01, 2018

Philpop announces Top 10 Finalists

10/22/2018 01:06:12 AM

From the pool of 30, the number of contending entries was now down to 10 as the 2018 PhilPop Music Festival announced its Top 10 Finalists for the songwriting competition.

The announcement was made on Thursday, 18 October 2018, at the Sunlife Performing Arts Theater in Bonifcaio Global City, Taguig, wherein the entries are judged according to the following: 50% judges choice, 25% online streaming, and 25% Smart's People Choice through SMS and Twitter's conversational ad.

Not only that all of the finalists underwent thorough scrutinizing process, but this year's edition of top 10  featured a number of different musical styles that ranges from  contemporary hit music to folk, Latin-flavored pop to R&B/soul, rock to easy listening music. It also banks on compositions that has a potential to be the next big thing in local music scene, something that the likes of “Dati” and “'Di Na Muli” has achieved.

In no particular order, here are the Top 10 Finalists:

Ako, Ako
Jeriko Buenafe
Feel Day
Hans Dimayuga
Di Ko Man
Ferdinand Aragon
Ferdinand Aragon
Isang Gabing Pag-ibig
Carlo Angelo David
Jex de Castro
Philip Arvin Jarilla
Laon Ako
Elmar BolaƱo
Donel Transporto
Cacai Bautista
Loco De Amor!
Edgardo Miraflor Jr.
Nanay Tatay
Chud Festejo
Chud Festejo
Sean Gabriel Cedro
John Ray Reodique
Julian Trono
Tama Na
Michael Rodriguez
Jeanne Columbine Rodriguez
Katrina Velarde
Yun Tayo (Formerly Taken)
Donnalyn Onilongo
Eunice Jorge/Gracenote

It was during this evening when festival curator Mr. Moi Ortiz also awarded PhilPop Foundation headed by PhilPop Board Member and 2018 Festival Chairman Mr. Ryan Cayabyab, PhilPop Vice President Patrick C. Gregorio, and PhilPop Executive Director Dinah Remolacio a Certificate of Appreciation for continuously pushing the boundaries of Filipino music through regional inclusivity and for giving voice to homegrown talents who have the potential to make it big in the local music industry.

Following the announcement, the voting for the winners of the PhilPop 2018 is still ongoing. Just log on to Philipo's official website for the complete instruction on how to vote for your favorite songs – via SMS or Twitter. Meanwhile, the top 10 finalists and their interpreters will showcase their songs in the PhilPop Festival Finals Night to be held on 2 December 2018 at Capitol Commons in Pasig City.

PhilPop 2018 is an initiative of the PhilPop Music Foundation, chaired by Mr. Manny V. Pangilinan. This year's PhilPop is co-presented by MAYNILAD, and also made possible with the support of MERALCO (major sponsor), Mid Atlantic Foundation for Asian Artists, Inc., NYXSYS (official OOH partner), SMART, VIVA Records (official record label partner), Ortigas and Co., PETA (production partner), Coke Studio, NCCA, OPM, TAGA-ALOG, Rappler (official media partner), Pinnacle (official agency integrator partner), and Gabi Na Naman Productions (official promo partner).

Author: slickmaster | © 2018 The SlickMaster's Files

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to make a comment as long as it is within the bounds of the issue, and as long as you do it with decency. Thanks!