Reader Advisory

Some articles posted in The SlickMaster's Files may contain themes, languages, and content which may neither appropriate nor appealing to certain readers. READER DISCRETION is advised.

Friday, November 04, 2016

PlayBack: Daft Punk - Random Access Memories (album)

10/10/2016 11:56:54 PM

Perhaps, it's no surprise why the French duo Daft Punk has been making exceptionally-good music since the 90s. The album Random Access Memories proved to be a living testament to it. 

For 74 minutes and 24 seconds, this 13-track record gives you a trip-back to the synth-pop side of the late 70s and early 80s, a theme that this duo has been on focus for years (2008-2012). The tribute-sounding Give Life Back to Music kicks off the long grind; Instant Crush (with Julian Casablancas) a taste of an epic collaboration; Giorgio by Moroder, a nine-minute evolution with the documentary-ish mix on the side (no wonder why it was nine minutes long); Lose Yourself To Dance another chillout dance hit; among others. 

And at some point, some tracks were actually consistent in pace en route to the next ones. Take Within-Instant Crush as an example. 

Plus, the CD itself makes you realize how those old times were compact discs and vinyl look. Now that's what a pop album should ever be made in the first place.

Random Access Memories may have sounded like that PC-related terminology, but just the title living up to its expectations: various experimental sounds did the poppish way. I guess the collaborations with several experts like Williams, Giorgio, Casablancas, Nile Rodgers, and others worked very well.

Verdict: 8

Must-hear tracks: Give Life Back To Music, Instant Crush, Wither, Lose YHourself To Dance, Get Lucky 

Random Access Memories is the fourth studio album of the French duo Daft Punk released in 2013 by Daft Lite and Columbia Records. The 13 tracks in this album were recorded in 2008-2012. It also features collaborations with 18 musicians, four engineers, and five production persons. This record won five awards after receiving seven nominations—five of them coming from the 2014 Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year and Record of The Year for their carrier single Get Lucky with Pharrell Williams. 

The album spawned three singles: Get Lucky (with Pharell Williams and Nile Rodgers), Lose Yourself To Dance (also with Williams), and Instant Crush (with Julian Casablancas).

Daft Punk (1993-2021) comprises of Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter

Author: slickmaster | © 2016 september twenty-eight productions

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to make a comment as long as it is within the bounds of the issue, and as long as you do it with decency. Thanks!