Reader Advisory

Some articles posted in The SlickMaster's Files may contain themes, languages, and content which may neither appropriate nor appealing to certain readers. READER DISCRETION is advised.

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

Newsletter: Spence Lee Unveils Highly Anticipated Album "S.H.O.T.T.A."


Prepare to immerse yourself in the sonic universe of Spence Lee as he releases his long-awaited album, "S.H.O.T.T.A." This debut project under EarDrummers and 88rising promises to be a mesmerizing journey through the multifaceted world of Spence Lee, offering listeners a glimpse into his soul as both a human being and a multidisciplinary artist. To accompany the new album, Spence also released his new video for “SRT” featuring Slim Jxmmi of Rae Sremmurd.

"S.H.O.T.T.A." (Soaring High Over The Turbulence Always) is a captivating collection of tracks that delve deep into the spectrum of human emotions and experiences. From themes of faith in God, ego, pride, and anger to love, loyalty, friendship, growth mindset, self-improvement, and confidence, Spence Lee fearlessly navigates through the complexities of life with an authenticity that resonates with listeners. The album showcases his versatility and range as an artist and songwriter, seamlessly blending live instruments such as pianos, guitars, and bass to create soulful melodies that are both refreshing and uplifting. 

With producers like Mike WiLL Made-it and other producers from the EarDrummers crew on board, "S.H.O.T.T.A." boasts an eclectic sound that is both bright and warm, infused with the iconic bounce that has become synonymous with Mike WiLL’s signature production style. The album also features collaborations with Kakuyon and Slim Jxmmi of Rae Sremmurd. Spence teamed up with Slim Jxmmi for their latest single, "SRT," with the accompanying music video set for release today.

"I want listeners to grasp the depth of the new project - beyond just rap and the flow," Spence Lee emphasizes. "I'm laying down my authentic narrative over some dope beats, showcasing the sheer versatility in my delivery… proving I can flow on any beat. It's about embracing my individuality and carving out a sound that's truly distinct - and truly me.”

Spence Lee's journey to the forefront of the hip-hop scene has been nothing short of remarkable. Born and raised in Somerset, New Jersey, he was exposed to a diverse array of musical influences from an early age, ranging from reggae and soul, to hip-hop pioneers like 2pac and Outkast. It was this eclectic upbringing that laid the foundation for his distinctive sound and unwavering commitment to his craft.

A true multi-hyphenate creative, Spence Lee first caught the attention of the industry as a teenager when he styled Rae Sremmurd for their "Up Like Trump" music video in 2014. Since then, he has continued to build a name for himself as both a rapper and a fashion icon, modeling for brands like Yeezy Season 1 while staying true to his Vietnamese and Chinese roots.

With "S.H.O.T.T.A.," Spence Lee is poised to make a lasting impact on the hip-hop landscape, bringing together diverse influences and experiences to create a truly unforgettable listening experience. 

S.H.O.T.T.A. Tracklist
1. Dig What I’m Sayin’ (prod. Kakuyon)
2. Foundation (prod. Lifted, MaxFlames and Lucian)
3. White Tee (prod. Melz)
4. SRT ft. Slim Jxmmi (prod. MGF Myles and Melz)
5. Spend My Days (prod. Kenneth English, Kakuyon and Melz)
6. Aura (prod. Mohntra and Dev. B)
7. Angie (prod. Kakuyon)
8. Sundown, Ice On (prod. Pluss, P Nazty, Zwiffa, K6, Melz and Kakuyon)
9. Sub-10 (prod. LarryBrrd)
10. God Is Love ft. Kakuyon (prod. Kakuyon and Spence Lee)
11. Eternity (prod. Mike Will Made it, MGF Myles and Kakuyon)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to make a comment as long as it is within the bounds of the issue, and as long as you do it with decency. Thanks!